Runtime Verification 2012 (RV’12)

Third International Conference on Runtime Verification RV 2012, September 25 – September 28, 2012 Istanbul, Turkey


Welcome to RV 2012

Runtime verification is concerned with monitoring and analysis of software and hardware system executions. Runtime verification techniques are crucial for system correctness and reliability; they are significantly more powerful and versatile than conventional testing, and more practical than exhaustive formal verification. Runtime verification can be used prior to deployment, for verification and debugging purposes, and after deployment for ensuring reliability, safety and security, and for providing fault containment and recovery.


  • specification languages and formalisms for traces
  • specification mining
  • program instrumentation
  • monitor construction techniques
  • logging, recording, and replay
  • fault detection, localization, recovery and repair
  • program steering and adaptation
  • metrics and statistical information gathering
  • combination of static and dynamic analyses
  • program execution visualization

Accepted papers will be published in LNCS.


The RV series of events started in 2001, as an annual workshop.  The RV’01 to RV’05 proceedings were published in ENTCS. Since 2006, the RV proceedings have been published in LNCS.  Starting with year 2010, RV is an international conference. Links to past RV events can be found at the permanent URL

Program Committee

Howard Barringer (University of Manchester)
Saddek Bensalem (VERIMAG)
Eric Bodden (EC SPRIDE)
Cristian Cadar (Imperial College)
Yliès Falcone (University of Grenoble)
Bernd Finkbeiner (Saarland University)
Stephen Freund (Williams College)
Ganesh Gopalakrishnan (University of Utah)
Wolfgang Grieskamp (Google)
Sylvain Hallé (Université du Québec à Chicoutimi)
Klaus Havelund (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory)
Suresh Jagannathan (Purdue University)
Sarfraz Khurshid (University of Texas at Austin)
Martin Leucker (University of Luebeck)
Benjamin Livshits (Microsoft Research)
Shan Lu (University of Wisconsin)
Rupak Majumdar (MPI-SWS)
Oded Maler (VERIMAG)
Sharad Malik (Princeton University)
Atif Memon (University of Maryland)
Peter Müller (ETH Zurich)
Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft Research)
Venkatesh-Prasad Ranganath (Microsoft Research)
Vivek Sarkar (Rice University)
Koushik Sen (University of California at Berkeley)
Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania)
Serdar Tasiran (Koc University)
Stavros Tripakis (University of California at Berkeley)
Martin Vechev (ETH Zurich)
Willem Visser (Stellenbosch University)
Zheng Zhang (Microsoft Research)